interlude

Sorry for the delay.  Part 2 of ‘Why a D Rex does’ is on its way, and I promise it will be more uplifting than part 1.

In the meantime, if you are not a denizen of Myspace and have not had the opportunity to check out my Myspace page yet, it can be found here: http://www.myspace.com/derrickfrommo

It was the original home of my blog, so you can see old posts there.  Also, check out the pictures section for photos of mine and Dre’s most recent bike trip into St. Louis (see Tom Waits Pilgrimage).  You’ll find a few of my fully-loaded rig there, if you’re curious about what that will look like.

I’d like to thank a few people specifically for their contributions to my impending adventure:

First, my grandpa, for giving me his compass.  Still the most useful travel tool going, and I hadn’t even thought to get one!  Grandpa doesn’t have internet access but I hope that someone shows him this site sometime.

Second, my dad, for giving me his solar cellphone charger.  I was just going to take my chances on opportunities to recharge, but it’s nice not to be entirely dependent on “the grid”.  (Plus it’ll look cool strapped across the front rack of my bike.)

And finally, my mom, for providing me shelter for this month and a half between the time my lease ran out and my trip’s start, and for being behind me all of the way.  I can’t thank you enough.

I want to encourage everyone to ask any questions they have about me or about my trip, either by leaving a comment on this page or by sending me an email to derrickjg@gmail.com.  When I start my trip, my posts will be done using the tiny touchscreen of my iPhone, so they will probably be relatively brief.  But, to be honest, I’m looking forward to the challenge of wittling down my sentences.  Brevity is something that I struggle with in my prose.

Please don’t be shy with any questions.  I want to be as honest and open in my account of this journey as I can.  I do, though, reserve the right to gloss the particulars as I see fit…

D Rex

Leave a Reply

