merely mortals: trying to rise with a heavy heart

My trip will not begin tomorrow.  And while the very heavy rainfall we’re getting–that is no doubt turning my first 100 miles of trail into a total swamp–would be an easier reason to give for my delayed departure, I’m afraid it is the much heavier stuff going on in my psycho-spiritual world that is the real reason.

As many of you already know, I have spent the last three and a half years in a very full and rewarding relationship with the marvelous Dre Merello.  By her grace and talents, my appreciation of life and capacities for love have matured and increased tremendously.  I owe her a great deal for bringing many gifts into my life that I might otherwise never have known.  She is a true artist and an inspiration.  She knows how to love.  I am honored and proud that she chose to spend so much time with me.

Sadly, that time has passed, and I must now come to terms with the significance of its passing.

Dre: I wish you all the love and luck in the world.  You are a gift, and infinitely gifted.

Leave a Reply

