God bless the iPhone

Well, I set out from Murphysboro following my Adventure Cycling maps at 8:30 this morning and five or so miles into it, things weren’t looking right. So I pulled out my iPhone and hit the map button. Evidently the state route I was supposed to be following veered away from the road I was traveling and I missed the sign. However, I could see on the phone that the traffic-heavy but very wide road directly in front of me would lead me into Carbondale in a mile or so. Not only did this save me from backtracking but it cut a ton of hilly miles from the planned route. Adventure Cycling takes you the long, less trafficked way along the outskirts of Carbondale, but I was planning on heading into town to check out a coffee shop that had been recommended to me by my Kentucky friend, Nick. I went into town and pulled out the iPhone again, typed ‘coffee’ into the search field on the map, and it popped up as a little pin point along with several other options. Now I’m enjoying breakfast at Flat Branch Coffee. Nick was right, definitely worth the stop. Thanks Nick, and thanks iPhone.

Leave a Reply

