the historical society/going alone

Since my last post, I’ve had a very pleasant and easy ride down to Hindman, KY, and I’m now making myself at home in the very large and cushy tent provided by the Historical Society here. The manager of the Historical Society, David had a glass of iced tea waiting for me when I arrived and quickly collected my dirty clothes, which he washed as I showered. With my easy ride here and the fantastic treatment I’ve received (after dinner ice cream, too!), I’m feeling a bit spoiled. But there isn’t any more camping until I cross over to the Breaks in Virginia, so c’est la vie. I’ll have a longer day to the Breaks tomorrow.

It’s been a long time since I’ve said anything about my breakup. Dre and I had a long talk on the phone before I left Berea and I think it prompted her to write her latest blog entry, which can be found here:
http://colorsmakeshapes.blogspot.com

I am at peace with our breakup and I support what she says there. It makes me sad that our paths had to part. I had not expected them to. But the roads we are travelling appear to be leading us in different directions. Three weeks ago, I probably would have tried to follow her on her path if she had invited me to, but I now believe that would have been a mistake. She has her work to do, and I have mine. Our relationship was rich, rewarding, and very loving–and I mourn its loss, but we are both stronger and happier people for having shared the time we could together.

If you would like to contact Dre and let her know that you’re thinking of her as she proceeds on the next stage of her journey, you may do so at: colorsmakeshapes@gmail.com
Signing out, with love and thanks,
D Rex

Leave a Reply

