here I am

Eric and Tracy’s apartment is great. It was less than a mile’s ride from the Arlington Bridge, and I walked to the museums on the National Mall this morning. I believe they’re less than a mile from the White House, and I’ve got a good view of the Watergate and the Washington Memorial from their rooftop terrace, where I sit writing this.

Eric and Tracy have been fantastic in welcoming me and making me feel at home. I don’t think I could have imagined a better place to find myself at the end of my journey.

It is a pretty big adjustment though, to stop touring and try to find my place here among the locals and tourists. I feel exhausted and restless.

I’m sure that I’ll adjust, but I’ll admit to an instinct that wants to just get back on the bike and go. In a way, this would be the easy answer for me: I’ve figured out a habit that makes the bike traveling life a viable mode of living. But I don’t know where I would be going or what I’d do once I got there.

I think there will be more bike touring in my future. But right now, I need to reaccustom myself to stillness, and try to figure out home.

One Response to “here I am”

  1. Erin Says:

    Derrick! We are so glad you made it safe and sound. Call Todd sometime, we miss you! Visit as much as you can. I was in DC when I was 11 and didn’t appreciate it. I would love to go back on a vacation soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

