I didn’t run away to join this

There’s a carnival squeak and squeal–adolescent laughter and convalescing rides–filling the ambient space in my tent. It will be a strange sound to go to sleep to.

I will admit to some disappointment–having finished my 80 miles–as I pulled up to the Hermann public park & campground to find oodles of tents, clusters of camp chairs around primary colored beer coolers, and people everywhere: people closely eyeing this obvious invader on a bicycle. They came for revelry. I came for camping.

It’s been a pretty good day. But I’m tired; it’s quickly cooling off; and I will be crawling into my bag to learn to sleep through this very soon.

That’s all I’ve got tonight.

Leave a Reply

