Albany or bust

Too frustrated with phone for eating two prior attempts at posting to deal in details anymore tonight, but wanted to give an update, so:

I am in Newark, NY, for the night, camped next to the operator’s house at the Canal locks here. Have been really digging the Canal and the towns along it. Was assured today, by two separate groups of people, that the Canal trail was complete all the way to Albany, and they had toured the whole thing themselves. So, I decided to forsake my maps and my intended route (which headed North, 15 or so miles ago) and stick with the trail. Got to Newark and the trail and the helpful guide signs disappeared completely. But I’ve come to love the Canal, and I have faith in it. It will get me to Albany.

Leave a Reply

